The Voice

Dan Deicher, "The Voice" of the La Crosse Fairgrounds Speedway and the Mississippi Thuunder Speedway covers racing at La Crosse, Fountain City, Tomah and Wisconsin Dells. News, off season moves, schedules, rule changes and more.

45th Annual Oktoberfest Race Weekend

Oct 2, 2014; La Crosse, WI. USA; Dan Deicher interviews Ty Majeski driver of the #91 NASCAR Whelen Late Model and the ARCA Superlate Model during the taping of the 7 Rivers Racing Show to kick off the 45th Annual Oktoberfest Race Weekend. Mandatory Credit: Robert Butterfield, Butterfield Photography-Midwest Family Broadcasting.



Oktoberfest Race Weekend Captured On Film

Award winning Photographer, Robert Butterfield will be keeping you udpated on the sights of the 45th Annual Oktoberfest Race Weekend right here all weekend long. All of the individual, side by side and at the line shots right here. You can also check in throughout the weekend at and on their Facebook page, Butterfield Photography. 

Ready For Some Fall Racing?

Well as I say at the La Crosse Speedway.......OH HERE WE GOOO! (while I have a voice) Three straight weekends of dirt and asphalt racing.....all within three hours of La Crosse. Over the next three weeks, fenders will be rubbed, paint will be traded, stock cars will be ruined, champions will be crowned and a lot of beer will be put away. And it all starts at the Rockford Speedway this weekend.

Friday- Cool 5 Championships will be decided for the Weekly Warrior Late Models, All American Sportsman, American Short Trackers and Roadrunners. Plus, the popular Bandit Challenge. ‘Faster than a Speeding Bullet’ Qualifying begins at 5 PM, with racing set to start at 7:07 PM. SATURDAY-The busiest day of NSTC is Saturday, leading up to ‘Short Track Saturday Night!’ Saturday features seven divisions of race cars and five championship features! Leading the way Saturday is the Big 8 Late Model Series. The Big 8’s best contest a 108 lap feature. Saturday night also includes the Mid-American Stock Car Series competing in a 50 lap feature race. The Great Northern Sportsman Series and Illini Midgets also contest a pair of 50 lap features Saturday night and are joined by the Hobby Stox, who close the night with a 30 lapper. The Super Late Models are part of the too, qualifying and running preliminary races for Sunday’s 200 lap main event. Saturday afternoon also includes the first on-track appearance by the Racing Xtreme Sprint Cars. ‘Faster than a Speeding Bullet’ Qualifying begins Saturday afternoon at 2:15 PM, with racing slated to start at 5:05 PM.  SUNDAY-Must See Racing Xtreme Sprint Cars are set to run a complete show, including qualifying, heats and a 50 lap feature event. The main event Sunday of course is the 49th running of the 200 lap ‘National Short Track Championship’ for Super Late Models. Also returning to Sunday of NSTC are the Match Races, NASCAR Late Models. ‘Faster than a Speeding Bullet’ Qualifying for the Must See Racing Xtreme Sprint Cars begins at 11:15 AM Sunday. Check out for more info.'s on to the 45th Annual Oktoberfest Race Weekend. 17 different classes of cars competing. 700 laps of feature racing. TEN Championships to be decided. Things get underway on Thursday night, October 2nd with the Super Late Models: “The Futures” race. Champions will be crowned all night long for the La Crosse NASCAR Late Models, La Crosse Sportsmen, Thunderstox, Hornets and Outlawz. Also competing are the Bandits and the World-Famous Double-O Race. Friday brings outsiders to the area as the Great Northern Sportsmen Series crowns a champ on the 5/8th mile. The Midwest Trucks will be back again, also putting finishing touches on a champion. And the widely popular Super Late Model: “Dick Trickle 99”, 3 segment race will be ran. Saturday the horsepower starts to grow as all of the action centers around the famed La Crosse big oval as Super Late Models: ARCA Midwest Tour, the Big-8 Late Model Series, Midwest Dash Cars and the Mid-American Stock Car Series travel to western Wisconsin, fresh off the Rockford Speedway. Sunday is the big tradition and prestige return to the fairgrounds with the Super Late Models: ARCA Midwest Tour 200 lapper, the Big-8 Late Model Series-Style JMCK 63 Invitational and the always popular Vintage Cars. has all of your info.

Had enough?

October 10th and 11th, as the asphalt cools down, the dirt starts a kickin' at the Mississippi Thunder Speedway in Fountain City. The bad boys and girls of dirt converge on the 3/8th's mile.....coming from 4-5 states. In addition to all regular weekly divisions, MTS will also be running regionally sanctioned Midwest Modifieds; and since USRA and WISSOTA National Points are still being awarded, racers will be battling hard at this show for every last point they can accumulate! Many of the USRA and WISSOTA Points chasers may be present. Also making a return, USRA Stock Cars. And after a 5 year hiatus, MTS welcomes back the Hornet/Flyers. Open Practice begins Thursday October 9th with two Full programs to follow Friday and Saturday evening! Mini Mods will hit the LIGHTNING SPEEDWAY at 5:30 PM Friday and 3:30 PM Saturday to begin the action; first green flag on "The Big 1/3-Mile" will immediately follow the official opening ceremonies at 6:30 PM Friday and 5:00 PM Saturday! has all of you info.

Whew........after all of that announcing.......I should take out some stock in throat lozenges huh? GET OUT AND SUPPORT YOUR LOCAL SHORT TRACKS! 



$100,000 MTS Weekend In The Books

With the best of the best converging on MISSISSIPPI THUNDER SPEEDWAY for the "3rd Annual Baehman Law B-Mod Nationals - The $100,000 Weekend" there three particular drivers who ended up proving themselves just a wee bit better than the rest. 2012 B-Mod Nationals $10,000 champ Travis Sauer walked away with the trophies and the cash at the end of Thursday's and Saturday's B-Mod Nationals' Features while Scott Bintz raced his way towards a Victory Lane celebration Friday night. Jason Krohn proved to be absolutely un-stoppable putting together a "3-peat clean sweep" winning the Rivercity Manufacturing USRA Modified $1,000 features Thursday, Friday and Saturday night! MISSISSIPPI THUNDER SPEEDWAY owner Bob Timm insured the racers and fans that he's already begun thinking about the 4th Annual B-Mod Nationals for 2015. He has some ideas that he thinks both Drivers and fans alike with really enjoy!

Few Champs Crowned. More To Come At Fest

A few La Crosse Fairgrounds Speedway drivers were crowned champions Saturday night. For the rest.....they will have to wait until Oktoberfest racing! Congratulations goes out to the 2014 Budweiser Dash champs, Greg Sheck in the Sportsmen, Steve Carlson from the NASCAR Late Models and Jason Bolster in the Thunderstocks. The Street Stock Champ will be crowned on Saturday night August 30th during the 200 lap Enduro event. The others will fight for division championships on October 2nd, 3rd, 4th and 5th.

arrow leftarrow centerarrow right
  • March 2015
Brewers vs. Indians at Maryvale
Saturday, March 28, 2015 2:55pm
NCAA tournament doubleheader
Saturday, March 28, 2015 5pm
NCAA tournament doubleheader
Sunday, March 29, 2015 1pm
Bucks at Hawks
Monday, March 30, 2015 5:30pm
Brewers vs.Reds at Maryvale
Tuesday, March 31, 2015 2:55pm
Bucks vs. Bulls
Wednesday, April 01, 2015 6pm