The Voice

Dan Deicher, "The Voice" of the La Crosse Fairgrounds Speedway and the Mississippi Thuunder Speedway covers racing at La Crosse, Fountain City, Tomah and Wisconsin Dells. News, off season moves, schedules, rule changes and more.

Seeking A NASCAR Tri-Fecta, Carlson Captures Week 1 Win

Two-time division champion Steve Carlson grabbed a win in the NASCAR Late Model division season-opening Frostbuster feature Sunday at La Crosse Fairgounds Speedway. Ty Majeski caputured second and Brad Powell finished third. Fast-time qualifier Harley Janskowski finished fourth and Mike Carlson held on to a top five finish.


Fast-time qualifier Nick Clements raced his way to the front of the field to win the Sportsmen feature. Tony Leis finished second, Brian Hesselberg third, Rick Johnson fourth and Mullikin fifth. Three different drivers broke the original track record for the Sportsmen division six times during qualifying. Nick Clements, Steve Bachman and jake Arneson all turned laps that beat the previous record held by Dan Gilster, who held the record since May 14th, 2011.


Jacinda Pfaff edged out Andy Moore to win the Thunderstox feature.


Patrick Thicke grabbed the checkered flag in the Hornets feature, outracing the 26 other cars on the quarter-mile track.


Cole Scholze dominated in the Outlawz division winning both the feature and heat races after being fast-time qualifier.


Up next at the La Crosse Fairgrounds Speedway is the first installment of Friday Night Street Drags. May 8 Premier Powdercoating Street Drags presents over 15 different brackets of racing, plus a Burnout Contest and Shine N’ Show contest. The Saturday night weekly racing season kicks off May 16th with the Late Models, Sportsmen, Thunderstox and Hornet divisions. There will also be a Second Over the Line Wins novelty race and kid’s rides.


NASCAR Late Models

25 Feature (17 Cars) — 1, Steve Carlson, West Salem; 2, Ty Majeski, Seymour; 3, Brad Powell, La Crosse; 4, Harley Jankowski,Sparta; 5, Mike Carlson, West Salem

Qualifying —  1, Harley Jankowski, 19.840 seconds

Heat 1 — 1, Jerimy Wagner;

Fast Dash — 1, Brad Powell



15 Feature (15 Cars) — 1, Nick Clements, West Salem; 2, Tony Leis, Onalaska; 3, Brian Hesselberg, West Salem; 4, Rick Johnson, West Salem; 5, Justin Mullikin, Holmen;

Qualifying —  1, Nick Clements, 21.440

Heat 1 — 1, Jamie Dummer

Dash — 1, Brian Hesselberg



15 Feature (10 cars) — 1, Jacinda Pfaff, Sparta; 2, Andy Moore, Sparta; 3, Charles Vian Jr., Sparta; 4, Kayla Lockington, Mindoro; 5, Kyle Lockington, La Crosse

Qualifying —  1, Andy Moore

Dash — 1, Jacinda Pfaff

Heat 1 — 1, Melissa Rusch;

Novelty — 1, Andy Moore



15 Feature (29 cars) — 1, Patrick Thicke, West Salem; 2, Hunter Miller, West Salem; 3, Nate Towner, Trempealeau; 4, Garret Thicke, West Salem; 5, Marc Luethe, West Salem

Heat 1 — 1, Hunter Miller;

Heat 2 — 1, Patrick Thicke;

Heat 3 — 1, Brandon LeMoine;



15 Feature (6 cars) —1, Cole Scholze, Sparta; 2, Ron Lockington, Mindoro; 3, Jason Bolster, Sparta; 4, Kevin Kvalheim, Sparta; 5, David Cavin, Sparta; 6, Wayne Smith, West Salem.

Qualifying —  1, Cole Scholze;

Heat 1 — 1, Cole Scholze;

Long Time La Crosse Speedway Fan and Track Worker Passes Away

Thoughts and prayers goes out to a good friend from the LaCrosse Speedway. Joel Thomas, popcorn stand and race fan, passed away this morning. A man that fought cancer all last year and still got to the races with a smile. He always found me after the races to give me health updates and to brag so proudly on his grandson. Another grandson came this past winter and last week, Joel was proudly boasting to me on both of them and his gorgeous wife, Lisa Thomas. Your smile, you calling me Danny and your firm handshake will be missed. RIP my friend. Dan Deicher.

Race Season Draws Near As Driver Meeting Date Set

 Officials from LaCrosse Fairgrounds Speedway announced today that the annual pre-season drivers’ orientation meeting will be held on Sunday afternoon, March 22nd. The meeting will take place at the Fox Hollow Banquet Hall, which overlooks the beautiful golf course located in Barre Mills, Wisconsin.

Drivers, crew members, and anyone interested in participating during the LaCrosse Speedway’s 2015 season is encouraged and invited to attend. The meeting will cover race night procedures, memberships, pit parking, and other topics regarding the new season. Teams can also take advantage of discounts on season pit passes and memberships. All interested race teams will meet at the same time.

“There’s a few changes headed our way this season and it’s always good to start out on the same page as the race teams,” stated Speedway’s Flagman Greg Oliver. “For drivers, this meeting is a good chance to connect with the officials, and get geared up for the new season,” concluded Oliver.

Doors will open for the meeting at Noon, when registrations and media forms will be accepted. The meeting will begin at 1:00. Those in attendance are eligible for some great door prizes pertaining to the upcoming racing season.